It’s Probably for the Better

9 07 2011

I find that I am posting more frequently these days, or at least I have the urge to. It must be my big blocks of thoughrniture crowding me out of my head and onto the pages of this blog. I am now at making mental lists of ideas I want to blog about!! Not sure if this is good or bad, but nevertheless, I am trying to stay away from that labeling system and if I find that I have to stick to it, I am now consciously trying to label everything as good even though I may not be able to clearly see it that way.

On this note, as I try to remind myself to think positively, to find the good twist in every happening, a certain little story comes to mind repeatedly. The first time I heard this story I was in awe. Then I retold it many times in conversations, but to be honest, I myself forget it too often for too long. I first heard it in this context: believing that everything God sends our way is good. It goes something like this:

It’s Probably for the Better

There was a king who had a very trusted minister. This minister was a very wise man and very close to the king, always accompanying him. The minister constantly said, “It’s probably for the better.” The king, who enjoyed hunting very much, took his minister along on all his hunting trips. On one of the hunting trips, the king had an accident that resulted in him losing one of his fingers. While the king was enraged, humiliated at being a king without a finger and in extreme pain, he heard his minister and closest friend say, “It’s probably for the better.” So, further infuriated, the king said, “What good can there be in me losing my finger? How can I be a king with a missing finger?” The king then ordered him to be imprisoned. As he is known to do, the minister, on being taken away by the king’s guards, said, “It’s probably for the better.” The king was now beyond infuriated. He ordered that the minister be left in prison till he was forgotten about. And so it was.

After the king’s hand healed, he went out on another hunting trip with his guards, this time, without his minister. As the king was quietly following his prey, he was captured by a group of pagans who decided to offer him as a sacrifice to their idol of worship. Then they noticed that he was missing a finger; he had only nine fingers. And their sacrifice must be whole and perfect; it cannot be flawed. After consulting one another, they decided he was no good to them as a sacrifice and let him go.

The king, thankful for having been spared a humiliating death, understood that losing his finger had been for the better: It saved his life. He then remembered his minister and ordered his release.

The king asked the minister, “I understand now that me losing my finger was for the better for me. But I have one question for you. When I ordered your imprisonment, you said, ‘It’s probably for the better.’ How can your imprisonment be for the better?”

The minister replied with a smile, “If you hadn’t imprisoned me, I would have gone with you on that fishing trip and as I have ten fingers, I would have been offered and killed as a sacrifice instead of you.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

